Business…

Sorry that it has been a while since my last post! Such a slacker right? 🙂

So business has been slow. Which is totally ok for now. I am still new to this whole thing, and if it were going super fast I don’t know if I could keep up. But with just a few orders so far, I do wish it were going a little bit more quickly. But God has a timing for everything right? I’m continuing to build relationships with other organizations and grass roots projects. It seems that there is a high concentration of activism for the Human Trafficking problem in California and Washington DC. I think it would be great if we could level it out a little by bringing some of that to the Midwest. (And to your area!)

I also had a new thought last night. Bear with me on this one….

Yesterday I was browsing Ashoka.org and saw this profile of Sohini Chakraborty. It was written when she was elected to the Ashoka Fellowship in 2003. She introduced dance therapy as a new way of rehabilitation of girls and teenagers who have suffered the abuse of being forced into prostitution.

“Through self-choreographed performances and presentations made at seminars, workshops, and media events, these children shed their victim status and are able, as equals, to initiate and sustain dialogue with other children and adults.”

In 2000 she started “Sanved“. It allows the girls to express with movement, what they cannot express with words. They are able to connect with others, build positive attitudes about their bodies, and take them from being a “victim” to being an artist. For some, it has also created a livelihood. Some are working independently as Dance Therapy teachers for other NGO’s. (Non-Governmental Organization.)

ANYWAY! All that said…

I thought, “Wow!” that is so great! She was so innovative! And it is so true that artistic expression is so therapeutic. I know that I feel better and more relaxed when I sit and doodle, or when I used to paint and draw more often. And it sure gave me a sense of self satisfaction and pride when I would finish a piece of artwork. …. see the connection? Yes? No? Well I’ll explain my thought.

I thought, ‘wouldn’t it be great if we could send art supplies, or money for art supplies so that more safe homes could have art programs for the women and children, so that they too can have some sort of creative outlet to express the horror that they have gone through instead of just having to talk about it? They can use art to get through their past and move on.

Some of you know that I am taking a few classes at Moody, and I was just doing my classwork the other day when I read this:

“There is much truth in Augustine’s formula ‘Love God and do what you please.’ The fact is that God is more aware of abilities and interest than men are. After all, He is the Creator! When a person is sincerely devoted to doing those things which glorify God’s name and avoiding all known sin, it is amazing how often He works through the individuals interests to accomplish a task best suited to that very person.”

Now, not that I claim to be some great artist, and not that I am sinless. But… I do love art. And I do have a big broken heart for the women and children that are suffering the pain of forced prostitution. I don’t know what that would look like compared with our current focus. But we are so small at this point, I don’t know if it would be a huge deal to shift our whole focus.

I still have a passion for fair trade, but that doesn’t mean there can’t be fair trade art! The Dignity Regained website would be great to bring the art together to sell prints of what the women and children create.

So I need to pray for a while about it. I would love to hear comments, feedback and ideas. Thanks!

Tammy

Image from Sanved.org

Leave a Reply

