Straight From the Chickens Butt…

So last week I had just arrived at work, I was walking up the walkway the leads to the front door, and the guy that does the flowers for our company was outside gardening. He said “Tammy, I have something for you.” I must have been wearing my feelings on my face, (which were confusion and a little bit hesistant to ask what it was,) because the next thing he said was, “well that’s a nice face!” So he walked to his van and pulled out two bread bags, and handed them to me. One was filled with smaller tomatoes and the other with eggs. “Fresh from this morning!” We always buy free range eggs from the store, which are $3, (compared to the 89 cent ones that aren’t free range,) so I was really happy to recieve them! I stuck them in the fridge at work and took them home. But I didn’t use them until this past Monday night.

So we used to have hens for a while, but I guess I don’t remember having to rinse eggs before using them. I was a little weirded out by them, but I kept going. After cracking and seperating the yolk and whites from two eggs, I reached in the for the third and it felt extra weird. I pulled it out and…. it still had a feather on it!! I almost gagged.

So this brings me back to, when did I become such a wimp? Three years ago I would have been the one to say, “Oh just eat it!”. I still ate the rest of the eggs, putting them in a pan with onions, bell peppers, and parm cheese, but I put the feathered egg back in the bag, (minus the feather of course).

Leave a Reply

