Trials and Tribulations…

But mostly trials. 3 pretrials and one meeting on the bike trail with our prosecutor and the park police chief later, we went to trial on Tuesday to testify. It made for a long morning and afternoon. I was on the stand for 2 hours, and Brian was on the stand for 1 hour. Nerve racking, but not as bad as I thought it was going to be. Our prosecutor told us that we didn’t have to look at him, except when I was to identify him. But once I got in there, I didn’t have a hard time with seeing him. His hair was a little longer, and he was more pale than in June. But I wasn’t bothered too much. I just got up and told them what I knew. God had His hands all over this case. We had the most wonderful prosecutor ever, Caelyn Deeb-Diver. First of all, she was a woman. Perfect. Second of all, she was brilliant! Nothing could shake her. So glad that she was with us through this whole trial. She was so considerate and made sure we were comfortable the entire time. The most nerve racking was the cross examination, but we made it through.

We went in yesterday to listen to the closing statements. Then we waited a few hours for the jury to deliberate. They came back in the afternoon with the verdict. Guilty. Such a relief. Even now as I am typing it is still sinking in. I have been living with this situation for the past couple of months, and it is difficult to realize that I can start to move on now. I don’t have to try to remember every single detail anymore. I don’t have to worry about whether or not my word will stand against his. Everyone was wonderful. Thanks to those who have offered encouragement and prayers. I certainly felt the prayers during the trial.

::sigh:: It’s over.

Tammy

If you would like to read more about the trial click HERE.

3 responses to “

  1. I know there is nothing that anyone can say to make that experience any less scary other than thank god it had a “good” outcome (i.e., the guy was arrested, put on trial and found guilty).

    What I CAN say is that you’re a strong woman, Miss Tammy, and you should be incredibly proud of yourself. Both for kickin’ that guy’s butt on the bike trail AND for your testimony against him at trial. I think I speak for Amanda as well in saying we’re very proud of you! 🙂

  2. Dignity Regained

    Aww thanks guys!

Leave a Reply

