Bumps and Grumps

Sometimes life can be a little bumpy. You know those times right? The times where even though your life looks pretty consistent on the outside, on the inside it is like a roller coaster of thoughts. I don’t know if this is a being young-not-knowing-what-you-want-to-be-in-life thing, because I’ve never been older than I am now. Is it a phase that I will pass through and never meet with again? Or is it something that will come around time and time again wearing a different mask? I’m not sure I even want it to go away. I do know certain parts of it that I could live without. But maybe it is a package deal.

So really, the reason I started writing this post, was to say that during the bumpy times in life, it is really really difficult to write in your blog! Someone told me one time, (when I was very unhappy,) “Tammy, you have to find multiple sources of joy in each day”. Hm. I’ve thought about that when I have counted on one thing or one person to make me happy that day. It is so disappointing when it doesn’t work out the way I imagined it rolling out of bed that morning. How do I look forward to things and not live my life wishing that it were another day?

I wanted to share with you, a couple sources of joy that I have throughout the day, in addition to being married to Brian, being a family member of my two wonderful families, and being a child of God. Some days I don’t get to see any of them. Some days I’ll discover something online, put it in my favorites and don’t look at it again until a month later. But at least I have a lot to choose from when I need to look at something other than a Performance Plan spreadsheet.

Etsy

I love Etsy. It is like Ebay, but for handmade things, really cool people, and a much more classy website. If you are like me and like to look at patterns of fabric, and art, and creations out of metal, glass, etc., then you could find hours of inspiration on Etsy. It is also a good way to find people with fun blogs.

Sirius Satellite Radio

I don’t know how I would make it through the day without Sirius. I listen to the Coffee House Channel 30 mostly. I got it for Brian as a birthday gift a while back, but I think I have reaped the goodness of Sirius more than he has gotten to. He is putting it back in his car, but I listen to it 8 hours a day. I thought it was pointless to have at first, I mean, we already got the radio, and it was free! But this is so much better. (Until Coffee House starts playing some elevator music they seem to have in the line-up. Blah. But right now they are playing Ingrid Michaelson. yay!)
Eli’s Coffee

…is the way I like to start my day. I feel slightly more grumpy if I don’t make it in to Eli’s that morning to get some coffee. It is so cozy inside, definitely an indie coffee shop, and she is a supporter of Fair Trade coffee. I like to go in, have a chat with Katie the owner, and imagine that I am not about to go sit at a desk for 8 hours. Oh! And you can bring your own travel mug for a discount, only $1.39 for a full travel mug of yummy coffee!
Blogs

I love to read blogs. Brian says that I do it maybe because I’m not happy with my own life. Maybe there is some truth to that. But I mostly like to relate, even though I don’t even know these people and they don’t know I’m reading their blog. But I love to hear about their day, and what they have created.

Here are some of my fav’s..

People I know…

Tina

Adam

Jared

People I don’t know…
on-my-desk

abeautifulmess

laladexpress

shimandsons

alittlehut

ofpaperandthread

Sojo

And a recent discovery that I had heard about in the past, but not really looked into until recently. Sojourners magazine, (I don’t get the mag, I just read online,) it is good to know that there are other Christians out there who care about social justice among other things posted in sojo.

If you have any please comment on them so I can glean from your wisdom of little joys! 🙂

T

4 responses to “

  1. Ah! I love Sojo! I didn’t know you could read it online! I used to read it when I was tutoring in the library in undergrad. 🙂 Great stuff.

    Looking forward to seeing you this coming weekend.

  2. Ah! I love Sojo! I didn’t know you could read it online! I used to read it when I was tutoring in the library in undergrad. 🙂 Great stuff.

    Looking forward to seeing you this coming weekend.

  3. hey! i check your blog every once and awhile…its in my long list of ones i read sometimes. i went to college with brian and i think i found it thru dignity regained…

    it seems i like blogs for the same reasons as you…finding factors that i can relate to in strangers…totally embracing the fact that i can do it behind the scenes. with that in mind, i love publishings (internet and books) like post secret and found magazine for the same reasons. the vegan lunchbox is also the cutest blog ever…lunches that a precious mom makes for her little vegan buddy in a bento box.

    so. i hope your days get better. were probably the same age and it seems like we like the same things. you should check those internet gems if you’re bored. mine is beckyheine.blogspot.com which is only fair bc i read yours…

    hope you start feeling like a million bucks soon!

    becky

  4. here are a couple of Journals I like to read. 🙂

    http://community.livejournal.com/veggie_diaries/

    http://community.livejournal.com/green_daily/

    http://thecakeblog.livejournal.com/

    those are just a few journals or Communities I like to browse.

    Happy thanksiving!

Leave a Reply

